28 August 2015 daily current affairs /GK/GA: Union Govt approved 6 new special economic zone proposals.

This decision was taken by the Board of Approval (BoA) for SEZ (under the aegis of Union Commerce Ministry) chaired by Commerce Secretary Rita Teaotia.

List of approved SEZ proposals includes :

  • HCL IT City Lucknow- set up IT/ITeS zones in Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh.
  • Loma IT Park Developer- set up IT/ITeS zones in Mumbai, Maharashtra.
  • North Mumbai International Commodity Township- It is proposed free trade warehousing zone in Thane, Maharashtra.

Note : SEZs contribute around 25 per cent in the India’s total exports. In 2013-14, exports from these zones had rose to 4.94 lakh crore rupees from 22,840 crore rupees in 2005-06.

New Delhi Municipal Council decides to rename Aurangzeb road as APJ Abdul Kalam road.

  • Aurangzeb road is one of the most important addresses in Lutyen’s Delhi.
  • Aurangzeb road begins at the Taj Mansingh hotel near India Gate and joins Safdarjang Road near the official residence of the Prime Minister.
  • One of the finest heritage hotels in Delhi, The Claridges is also located on the same road.Maheish Girri had led the campaign demanding name change.

New caretaker govt led by first female PM sworn in Greece.

  • Greece’s new caretaker government was sworn in on Friday as the country prepares early elections next month, the third time Greeks will go to the polls this year.
  • Vassiliki Thanou, a top judge and the country’s first female prime minister, will lead the country until the election, which is expected to take place on 20 September.
  • Alexis Tsipras, stepped down last week following a rebellion by members of his leftwing Syriza party who objected to the conditions of Greece’s third international bailout.

Inaugural Sunhak Peace Prize – to Scientiest Dr Modadugu Vijay Gupta.

  • He has been selected for this award for his pioneering work in the blue revolution.
  • He will receive the first Sunhak Peace Prize in South Korean Capital city of Seoul along with President of Kiribati Islands Anote Tong.
  • Anote Tong has been chosen for this award for creating global awareness on the severity of climate change issue and sought for action by the international community for its solution.

About Dr M.V Gupta :

  • M. V. Gupta hails from Bapatla district of Andhra Pradesh and was born on 17 August 1939.
  • He is recipient of the World Food Prize in 2005 for development and dissemination of low-cost techniques for freshwater fish farming by using tilapia species for the rural poor.
  • He has invested his entire life to developing sustainable aquaculture as an alternative solution to the future food crisis.

E-Payment module launched for deposit of compensatory levies into CAMPA funds.

  • CAMPA stands for “Compensatory Afforestation Management Planning Authority”.
  • Union Environment Minister Prakash Javadekar launched e-payment module in New Delhi in order to make these payments for diversion of forest land quicker and more transparent.
  • e-payment module has a designated account for the payment purpose, depending on the States in which the forest land is proposed to be diverted.
  • At initial stage, the payments will be allowed through two modes viz. online challan mode through RTGS and NEFT and offline challan mode.
  • The deposit of compensatory levies through the e-portal will be optional till August 31, 2015 and will be accepted only through the e-module from 1 September 2015.

Usain Bolt wins gold in 200m  in world Championships beating Justin Gatlin.

  • Usain Bolt won the rematch and 200m gold as he ran a wonderful bend to once again leave rival Justin Gatlin chasing silver and fresh air.
  • His 19.55 seconds was the fastest in the world this year, his speed and peerless championship class too good for American Gatlin, whose 19.74 was well outside his season’s best.

Read : August 2015 Daily current affairs 

Barecelona’s Lionel Messi wins UEFA Best Player in Europe award.

  • He beat Luis Suarez, his teammate at the Champions League winner, and Real Madrid’s Cristiano Ronaldo in a Europe-wide poll of journalists.
  • The award was launched in 2011 and previously went to Messi, Andres Iniesta, Franck Ribery and Ronaldo. Celia Sasic, the German star forward of Women’s Champions League winner Frankfurt, received the women’s award from UEFA President Michel Platini.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.