The Hindu current affairs for the second week of January 2016. New year brings new hope to get a Govt. job this time. Start preparation form now to crack all the exams this year.


SWAT- Special Weapons Attack Team

NSG- National Security Guard

SCOPE- Standing Conference of Public Enterprises

EPCA- Environment Pollution Control Authority

IDRBT- Institute for Development and Research in Banking Technology

SAFF- South Asian Football Federation

TSPs- Telecom Service Providers

DANICS- Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar Islands Civil Services

DDA- Doha Development Agenda

DSC- Defense Security Corps

CFTRI- Central Food Technological Research Institute

IRF- Interest Rates Futures


Director General of Scope- Shri U.D.Choubey

Chief Minister of Karnataka- Siddaramaiah

TRAI Chairman- Shri Ram Sewak Sharma

Director General of ITBP- Krishna Chowdhary

President of Confederation of Indian Industry (CII)- Shri Sumit Mazumdar

Supreme Leader of North Korea- Kim Jong-un

CMD of NALCO- Shri Tapan Kumar Chand

President of FICCI- Shri Harshavardhan Neotia

In-Charge of Monetary Policy Department of RBI- Shri Urjit Patel

Also Read Previous: Weekly The Hindu Review

New Appointments

New Vice-Chairman of Wipro- T.K.Kurien

New Technical Advisor to Odisha- Sam Pitroda

New CEO of Wipro- Abidali Neemuchwala

New CEO of NITI Aayog- Shri Amitabh Kant (To be in March)

New Chief Operation Officer of Wipro- Bhanumurthy B.M.

Book & author

“Go Set a Watchman” written by- Harper Lee

“The Shawl” written by- Sudhamahi Regunathan

“Netaji: Living Dangerously” written by- Kingshuk Nag

“Triumph of The City” written by- Edward Glaeser


Jallikattu- A Traditional Sport in Tamilnadu

SAFF Cup 2015 (Football) winner- India

                                      Runner Up- Afghanistan

Swedish Cup Gran Prix- Women’s 10 meter Air Rifle Gold- Apurvi Chandela

Mascot of 12th South Asian Games- A Playful Rhino

BCCI Women Cricketer of the Year 2015- Mithali Rajoi

National & International Days

World Laughter Day- 10 January


Nalco Smiles Award- Dr. Sruti Mohapatra

Nalco Kharavela Award- Padam Shri Ilena Citaristi

Nalco Kalidas Award- Prof. Harekrishna Satapathy & Prof. Gangadhar Panda

People’s Choice Award 2016 in ‘Favorite Actress in a New TV Series’- Priyanka Chopra

Karnataka Sahitya Academy Annual Award- K.S.Bhagavan

Business & Economy

Amendment in Negotiable Instrument act, Cheque Bounce Case can be filed only where it was deposited.

Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs approved the closure of HMT watches.

Urjit Patel re-appointed as Deputy Governor of RBI.


12th South Asian Games 2016- Assam, India

National Affairs

Pranav Dhanawade scored 1009 runs in an official match. First player to score four digit numbers.

Ministry of Overseas Indian Affiars merged with Ministry of External Affairs.

International Affairs

North Korea tested the Hydrogen Bomb claimed by News Channels.


Sarosh Homi Kapadia- Former Chief Justice of India

Igor Sergun- Chief of Russia’s Secretive military intelligence service

Pierre Boulez- French Musical Giant

Mufti Mohammad Sayeed- Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir

All The Best.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.