Check important static gk on Indian national movements for ssc cgl,UPSC and state psc. Every year one or two questions are asked in SSC combined graduate level CGL exam on important Indian national movements. So it is very important to remember these Indian national movement events with year. So here in this article we are publishing about the important Indian national movements according to their year of happening.

Indian national Movements :

Government of India Act : 1858

Indian National Congress : 1885, found by A.O hume, an Englishman and retired civil servant.

Partition of Bengal : 1905, by lord Curzon.

Swadeshi Movement : 1905

Formation of Muslim League : 1906

Important Indian National Movements with year
Important Indian National Movements with year

Demand for Swaraj : 1906

Surat Session of INC : 1907 , INC split into two groups – extremists and moderates. Extremists were led by Bal, Pal and Lal while moderates were led by G.K Gokhale.

Indian Council act or minto morley reforms : 1909

Morley-Minto Reforms : 1909

Gadhar party : 1913, formed by Lala Hardyal, Taraknath Das and Sohan singh bhakna with HQ at San Francisco.

Lucknow Pact : 1916

Home Rule Movement : 1916-­1920

The Gandhian Era : 1917-1947

Jallianwalla Bagh Massacre : 1919

The Rowlatt Act : 1919, gave power to government to arrest and imprison suspects without trial for 2 years.

Khilafat Movement : 1920, started by two brothers Mohd. Ali and Shaukat Ali.

Non-Cooperation Movement :1920, first mass political movement under Mahatma Gandhi ji.

Chauri Chaura Incident : 1922, a mob of people at chauri chaura near Gorakhpur clashed with police and burnt 22 policeman on feb 5,1922. It complled Gandhi ji to withdraw the non co operation movement on feb 12,1922.

Simon Commission : 1927 , constituted under john simon to review the political situation in India and for further reforms. Indian leader opposed this commission as no Indians in it.

Lahore session : 1929 , INC under J L Nehru declared Poorna Swaraj as its Goal and tricolor flag was adopted and unfurled and 26 jan 1930 was fixed as first independence day

Dandi March : 1930,also known as salt satyagraha. Gandhiji along with 78 followers started his march from Sabarmati ashram on 12th march 1930 for small village Dandhi to break salt law.

Gandhi-Irwin Pact :1931, moderate statesman, sapru, jaikar and srinivas shastri made effort to break the ice between Gandhi ji and government. Government represented by Irwin and INC by Gandhi ji signed the pact on 5 march 1931.

The Government of India Act : 1935

Quit India Movement : 1942

Cabinet Mission Plan : 1946, Struggle for freedom entered a decisive phase in 1945-46. The new labor party PM lord Attlee made declaration on march 15, 1946 that British cabinet mission(lord Pethick Lawrence as chairman, sir Stafford cripps and A V Alexander) will visit India.

This mission held talks with the in C and ML to bring about acceptance of their proposals.

On may 16, 1946 , mission put towards its proposals rejecting the demand for separate Pakistan and instead a federal union consisting of British India and princely states was suggested. Both Congress and Muslim league accepted it.

Jinnah’s Direct Action Resolution  : August 16, 1946. Jinnah was alarmed with election results with danger of totally eclipsed in constituent assembly. Muslim league withdrew its acceptance of cabinet mission plan on 29th July 1946. It passed a direct act resolution which condemned both British government and congress. It resulted in heavy communal riots.

Jinnah celebrated Pakistan day on 27 march 1947.

Interim Government : 1946, An interim government was formed on Sept 2, 1946 based on cabinet mission plan. J L Nehru was its vice president and governor general remained as its president.

Formation of Constituent Assembly : 1946, Constituent assembly met on 9th December 1946 and Dr. Rajendra Prasad was elected as its president.

Mountbatten Plan : 1947

The Indian Independence Act : 1947

Partition of India : 1947, all political party accepted the Mountbatten plan. At time of independence there were 562 small and big princely states in India.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.