Here is a list of chief justice of India since 1950 to Today .This  list of all chief justice of India will help you to know about the tenure of all chief justice of India since 1950. So read it and keep it in your mind for your exams and as general knowledge.

This list is very important for the purpose of any State or National level exam. In state level exam, There may be questions related to the chief justice at the time of the formation of that state. In Bank or SSC level exam, last four or five names are very important and they can be asked in any exam as the current affairs.

But chief justice list is very important for the SSC, UPSC and state PCS, because in these examination the level of General knowledge is little bit higher from all other examinations. Start from the 1950 and read it to the end. After that try to give the answers of questions by your own.

list of chief justice of India since 1950

S.No.NameTook  OfficeLeave Office
1.Justice Harilal Jekisundas Kania26-01-195006-11-1951
2.Justice M. Patanjali Sastri07-11-195103-01-1954
3.Justice Mehr Chand Mahajan04-01-195422-12-1954
4.Justice Bijan Kumar Mukherjea23-12-195431-01-956
5.Justice Sudhi Ranjan Das01-02-195630-09-1959
6.Justice Bhuvaneshwar Prasad Sinha01-10-195931-01-1964
7.Justice P. B. Gajendragadkar01-02-196415-03-1966
8.Justice Amal Kumar Sarkar16-03-196629-06-1966
9.Justice Koka Subba Rao30-06-196611-04-1967
10.Justice Kailas Nath Wanchoo12-04-196724-02-1968
11.Justice Mohammad Hidayatullah25-02-196816-12-1970
12.Justice Jayantilal Chhotalal Shah17-12-197021-01-1971
13.Justice Sarv Mittra Sikri22-01-197125-04-1973
14.Justice Ajit Nath Ray26-04-197328-01-1977
15.Justice Mirza Hameedullah Beg29-01-197721-02-1978
16.Justice Yeshwant Vishnu Chandrachud22-02-197811-07-1985
17.Justice Prafullachandra Natwarlal Bhagwati12-07-198520-12-1986
18.Justice Raghunandan Swarup Pathak21-12-198618-06-1989
19.Justice Engalaguppe Seetharamiah Venkataramiah19-06-198917-12-1989
20.Justice Sabyasachi Mukharji18-12-198925-09-1990
21.Justice Ranganath Misra25-09-199024-11-1991
22.Justice Kamal Narain Singh25-11-199112-12-1991
23.Justice Madhukar Hiralal Kania13-12-199117-11-1992
24.Justice Lalit Mohan Sharma18-11-199211-02-1993
25.Justice Manepalli Narayana Rao Venkatachaliah12-02-199324-10-1994
26.Justice Aziz Mushabber Ahmadi25-10-199424-03-1997
27.Justice Jagdish Sharan Verma25-03-199717-01-1998
28.Justice Madan Mohan Punchhi18-01-199809-10-1998
29.JusticeAdarsh Sein Anand10-10-199831-10-2001
30.Justice Sam Piroj Bharucha01-11-200105-05-2002
31.Justice Bhupinder Nath Kirpal06-05-200207-11-2002
32.Justice Gopal Ballav Pattanaik08-11-200218-12-2002
33.Justice V. N. Khare19-12-200201-05-2004
34.Justice S. Rajendra Babu02-05-200431-05-2004
35.Justice Ramesh Chandra Lahoti01-06-200431-10-2005
36.Justice Yogesh Kumar Sabharwa01-11-200513-01-2007
37.Justice K. G. Balakrishnan14-01-200711-05-2010
38.Justice S. H. Kapadia12-05-201028-09-2012
39.Justice Altamas Kabir29-09-201218-07-2013
40.Justice P. Sathasivam19-07-201326-04-2014
41.Justice R.M. Lodha27-04-201427-09-2014
42.Justice H.L. Dattu28-09-201402-12-2015
43.Justice T. S. Thakur03-12-201503-01-2017
44.Justice Jagdish Singh Khehar04-01-2017Till Date


Now we are giving you some examples of questions that may asked in near future exams. And after reading the above list ,you can easily answer the below questions.

Who was the first chief justice of India ?
Who was the first muslim chief justice of India ?
How many chief justice of India appointed till now ?
Who is the current chief justice of India ?
Which chief justice of India has the longest tenure as CJI?
Which chief justice of India has the Shortest tenure as CJI?

and much more.


You can Join Our Special Test Courses and Test Series according to your competitive exams. We have published the test courses that will cover subject wise full syllabus and increase your chances to get success in the coming competitive exams.

Our test series and Test courses are designed by the Exam experts and will give you the feel of real examination at home. 

So join these test series and test courses to get 100% sure success in your exam - Join Now


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.